A Med. Student’s gift list!

So, this is a super late post, and it’s after the holidays, but I wrote this a year ago and thought I should share it. These are items I wanted and asked for during Christmas last year. Here is a list of my items, all of which I either already received or have yet to buy that are perfect for anyone in medicine!

1. This was at the top of my list: Keurig! I received the Keurig “Elite” for Christmas! I kept switching between this, the Mini, and the new Vue – but I am obsessed with Dunkin and Starbucks, and the Vue is so new, that K-cups are incompatible so that was a huge NO and the mini was too small and not as efficient/diverse as the Elite!

Feautures:

  • Automatic
  • Choice of 3 cup sizes (6 oz., 8 oz. and 10 oz.)
  • Removable 48 oz. water reservoir
  • Quiet Brew Technology®
  • Energy Savings Mode – Auto Off

*The Elite Brewing System brews a perfect cup of coffee, tea, hot cocoa or iced beverage in under one minute at the touch of a button. With the choice of three cup sizes, the Elite brewer offers a removable drip tray to accommodate travel mugs –> ALL OF MY TUMBLERS! 🙂 PRICE: $119.95 @WWW.KEURIG.COM

2. Gray’s Anatomy – no, not the TV show, although I would love to own every season of Grey’s, this is the medical reference written by the world famous surgeon, Dr. Henry Gray and illustrated by H.V. Carter. I’ve started flipping through the pages and it is easily one of my favorites so far! Extremely detailed, fascinating, informative, and interesting. PRICE: $27.48

*This is an attractively designed edition of “Gray’s Anatomy”, the scientific and artistic triumph. Kept in print by its clarity and usefulness, the text features sumptuous illustrations and clear, matter-of-fact descriptions. This exquisite version of the text will make an elegant addition to any home library. “Gray’s Anatomy” is a phenomenally well-known title and with good reason; it is a scientific and artistic triumph. Not just a dry index of parts and names, Gray’s lets the natural beauty and grace of the body’s interconnected systems and structures shine forth from the page. Using sumptuous illustrations and clear, matter-of-fact descriptions, Dr. Gray unleashed a classic on the world more than 100 years ago. Its clarity and usefulness keep it in print today. Whether you want to understand yourself or others, knowledge of our physical parts and how they fit together is essential. “Gray’s Anatomy” provides that information in a simple, timeless format that cleanly dissects a body of knowledge grown over centuries. This book will not only fill the needs of people in the medical profession, but will please artists and naturalists as well. Part of the “Leatherbound Classics” series, this volume is an attractively designed edition bound in genuine bonded leather.
Gray's Anatomy (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics)
3. Gray’s Anatomy Coloring book to match and I cannot wait to get some free time to start coloring! PRICE: $9.36 *For those who find the human body to be fascinating look no further! Compiled are some of the best drawings taken from the famous book of anatomy, Gray’s Anatomy (1858), by the late anatomist and surgeon, Henry Gray. With more than 85 illustrations to color, it’s easy to understand what
goes on inside you!
Start Exploring: Gray's Anatomy: A Fact-Filled Coloring Book
4. Physiology coloring book – what better way to reinforce physiology concepts than to color? This is written by Wynn Kapit, Robert Macey, & Esmail Meisami. I Cannot WAIT to start coloring in this one either. PRICE: $12.81 *This coloring book offers an enjoyable, highly effective way for students to learn physiology. Topics are covered in self-contained two-page spreads, allowing students to easily focus on the material being presented. A unique combination of introductory material, names and illustrations to be colored, and substantive captions deliver a comprehensive, yet easy-to-understand, treatment of physiology. The Physiology Coloring Book is the companion to the extremely successful Anatomy Coloring Book , which has sold more than 2.5 million copies.
The Physiology Coloring Book (2nd Edition)
5.  The Anatomy Coloring book – why get two you wonder? Because I know I’ll fill up the one, get bored, and need another. So this is my second one, written by Wynn Kapit and Lawrence Elson. PRICE: $14.59. *For over 23 years, The Anatomy Coloring Book has been the leading human anatomy coloring book, offering concisely written text and precise,  extraordinary hand-drawn figures. Organized according to body systems, each of
the 170 plates featured in this book includes an ingenious color-key system
anatomical terminology is linked to detail illustration of the structures of the
body.
6. DOCTOR BARBIE – “I CAN BE” set – “I Can Be Kid Doctor” – If you know me, you have know how awesomely insane this item is to me. This was my FAVORITE GIFT, every Med. school queen’s or pre-med princess’ dream gift!  No, I’m not gonna play with this Barbie, and honestly won’t even take her out of the package. She’ll sit on my desk and look pretty and be my motivation! I literally called every surrounding Wal-Mart for Dr. Barbie this year’s edition, but after seeing her online, I realized this one was the prettiest, and did I mention she was my avi on twitter? SOLD. PRICE: $39
7. Prestige Medical Hearbeat Socks – cozy, comfy, and medically accurate, what more could you ask for? I cannot wait to slide my feet into these – how cute are they? PRICE: $4.90
8.  Big Mouth Toys The Prescription Coffee Mug! If you’re pre-med, you most likely love coffee. This is a fun way to drink it! Who needs their prescription refilled? PRICE: $13
9. 14K Gold Caduceus Earrings. I love jewelry, and I only wear Yellow Gold. Yeah, I’d prefer 24K gold but hey, these were the only Caduceus yellow gold earrings I could find and I’m in love!  Literally obsessed with these Caduceus earrings and cannot wait to put them in my ears! They’re gonna look great next to my pearls! PRICE: $46.36 *This is a beautiful new pair of 14 karat yellow gold Caduceus earrings. These are a great gift for yourself or a loved one and make the perfect addition to any jewelry collection.     “Stay beautiful and confident, wear 14K gold.”      STYLE- Symbols  KARAT- 14 Karat  METAL COLOR- Yellow  IMPORT/ ITALY/ USA-  STAMPED- 14K  SOLID/ PUFFED- Solid  FINISH- Textured  APPROXIMATE LENGTH- 12 mm (1/2″)  APPROXIMATE WIDTH- 8 mm (5/16″)  APPROXIMATE WEIGHT- 0.51 grams
10. Giant Microbes Stomach Ache (Shigella) Giant plush doll – These are 1,000,000x their actual size! Clearly, everyone knows Microbiology was one of my favorite subjects! Most girls cuddle with a teddy bear, I cuddle with Shigella. How adorable is he? It includes a hangtag with an image and fun and educational facts about the typical stomach ache! PRICE: $29.95 *Having a stomach ache can be loads of fun … if it’s a Giantmicrobe, of course!  (And this one will tell you how to keep his friends away.) Perfect teaching tool for parents, educators, health, medical and science professionals! Great gift for teachers, doctors, collectors, kids of all ages, and anyone with a healthy sense of humor!
@GIANTMICROBES.COM
Giant Microbes Stomach Ache (Shigella) Gigantic doll
11. Giant Microbe “Mononucleosis” – Kissing Disease (Epstein Barr virus) Plush Doll – So I had “mono” several times in middle school and high school, not from kissing though 😉 ! I played three sports, took honors courses, advanced, and AP courses, etc. Needless to say, I was your typical but athletic pre-pre-med. making my immune system more susceptible to contract the Epstein-Barr virus. Plus. she’s pink AND girly, naturally.  PRICE: $29.95 *A kiss is just a kiss — unless she’s around! 95% of the population has encountered this sweetie pie. Find out who gets her special love. Perfect teaching tool for parents, educators, health, medical and science professionals!  Great gift for teachers, doctors, collectors, kids of all ages, and anyone with a healthy sense of humor! 1,000,000 times its actual size and it includes a hangtag with an image and fun and educational facts about the “kissing disease.” @GIANTMICROBES.COM
12.  Medical Syringe Highlighter Marker-Lot of 3. I constantly am running out of high-lighters, but these just make high-lighting that much more fun! This is a pre-med must have! Fun syringe shape, and 3 comes in a pack! They also have colored ones as well! PRICE: $7.97
13. 12 “Blood-filled” Needle Syringe pens! – As a pre-med, one can never have enough pens and these are awesome! These “Hypodermic” needles are pens that are filled with red liquid inside to simulate blood! Can’t wait to start taking notes with these! These too are also available in other colors besides “blood red.” PRICE FOR 12: $5.37
14. Anatomical Chart Company Tall Paul Torso Model by Anatomical Chart Company. What better way to study, then to handle the organs and their systems personally? I’m a hands on learner, and this is one of the greatest gifts I could ever have! PRICE: $161.58 *Budget Tall Paul Torso Item #: CMT5 Hand painted and meticulously assembled to simulate human anatomy. Dissects into 19 parts: torso, head (2-parts), brain, lung, (4-parts), heart, trachea, esophagus and descending aorta, diaphragm, stomach, duodemum with pancreas and spleen,
intestines, cecum, kidney, bladder (2-parts), liver. Mounted on a base. Size: 33-1/2″ tall.
15. Mini Pocket Fiber Optic Otoscope in PINK – while I have my real otoscope from Welch-Allyn, I purchased this travel, small otoscope for on-the-go training and to just play around with. I’m so excited to use it and it’s HOT PINK! I had to get it, it’s a med. school queen thing. Cheap, durable, and easy to take with you anywhere! PRICE: $31 *This Mini Otoscope offers tremendous value for money Its made from Aluminium for strength and light weight and the Halogen bulb gives a bright light without generating excessive amounts of heat.The magnication Lens can be swiveled out of the way when not required. The Otoscope has the following features:
  • 2.5V Halogen Light with Long Life Bulb – Gives Bright Cool Light
  • Canvas Pouch
  • Pocket Clip
  • 6 Disposable Plastic Specula
  • x3 Magnification Lens
  • Runs from 2 AA batteries
  • CE Approved

16. Littmann Cardiology III 27″ Stethoscope in  Coral Pink – I definitely needed a stethoscope for medical school and I’ll go with none other than Littmann, and obviously it has to be pink!  Did I mention you can have it monogrammed? This is perfect for the girliest of medical students! I chose the Cardiology, because it is a little better quality than the Classic, and I need the best quality I can find in order to hear heartbeat regularities and abnormalities! PRICE: $172.94 *The 3M Littmann Cardiology III stethoscope combines outstanding acoustics and superior versatility. It features a dual adult- and pediatric-sided chestpiece with a tunable diaphragm that allows you to use both sides of the stethoscope to monitor high and low frequencies. Also features a solid stainless steel chestpiece, two-tubes-in-one design, non-chill rims, adjustable double-leaf binaural spring and patented 3M Littmann snap-tight, soft-sealing eartips. Five-year warranty.

  • Two patented tunable diaphragms allow for listening to both low- and high-frequency sounds with either side of the chestpiece.
  • Two tubes are incorporated into a single-tube design that eliminates noise artifacts created from two tubes rubbing together.
  • Headset assembly is permanently set at an anatomically correct angle to minimize air leaks and prevent the headset from loosening over time.
  • Chestpiece features a non-chill rim and diaphragm assembly.
  • Patented 3M Littmann snap-tight, soft-sealing eartips assure maximum comfort and excellent acoustic seal. An extra pair of small eartips is provided to assure a personal fit.
  • 27″ length
  • @ ALLHEART.COM

17. PINK SCRUBS! – I won’t get to wear these in the OR, but you can bet I’m rocking these in cadaver lab, monogrammed of course.  Scrubzone unisex top and pants: PRICE FOR BOTH: $32 *@ Scrubs and Beyond!

18. K-Cups! – I definitely need these for my Keurig Elite, so I got Starbucks Breakfast Blend and Dunkin’ Donuts Pumpkin K-cups! So delicious. These are available at Wal-Mart, in Starbucks or Dunkin, online, etc. Price for each pack: $11.99

 

19. Operation, the game – My mom got this for me to perfect my eye-hand coordination and fine motor skills, as well as maintain my steady hands! I love this game! For those of you that don’t know what it is, it’s a fun medical game in which you try to remove small objects “ailments” from the body with tiny tweezers. You cannot touch the sides or else a loud buzz goes off and his nose lights up. It forces you to keep control, steadiness, and be precise – great game for future surgeons! Price: $18.99 *Test your medical skills with the Operation Silly Skill Game by Hasbro. This game features bells, burps, barks and
more. Grab your tweezers and hold your hand steady. What do you hear? It sounds like a flushing toilet, and it looks like Cavity Sam has a case of bad plumbing. Eeeeeek! You will need to operate to help him out. Press his nose to find out if the operation was successful, then listen as the game tells you what to grab next. Will you be the top doc? For 1 or more players

20. Operation Band-aids – again my mom was being thoughtful. What med. student doesn’t have band-aids? Forunately my band-aids match my Operation game. Pretty cool.

4 thoughts on “A Med. Student’s gift list!

Leave a Comment

